Skip to main content


Back to News

The Land Trust, Window Cliffs Earns 2018 Governor’s Environmental Stewardship Award

On Monday, July 9, The Land Trust for Tennessee received a 2018 Governor’s Environmental Stewardship Award for our work to bring Window Cliffs State Natural Area into permanent protection.

In April 2017, our partners at Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation celebrated the momentous opening of the 275-acre area in Putnam County that is home to limestone bridges and “windows,” rare plant species, wildlife habitat and over two miles of Cane Creek. As documented by Wild Side TV, this win was more than 40 years in the making.

Window Cliffs had long been considered an important area for land conservation and preservation. In 2014, after years of both interest and discussions between private landowners and the State of Tennessee, multiple landowners desired to sell their land to the State. Due to the complex nature of the property transactions with multiple landowners and a quick acquisition time, the State of Tennessee turned to The Land Trust to lead the complex transactions and make this dream a reality.

Now, Tennesseans and visitors alike can enjoy this beautiful place forever.

In total, 15 award recipients were celebrated during the 32nd annual awards ceremony for their innovative work to protect and conserve Tennessee’s natural resources across the state.

Read all of the accomplishments from the 2018 Governor’s Environmental Stewardship Awards recipients here.

Recipients of the 2018 Governor’s Environmental Stewardship Awards on July 9, 2018, in Franklin, Tennessee.

Our special congratulations to the Bells Bend Conservation Corridor in Nashville for being recognized in the land use category. We currently protect 350 acres of farmland and open space in this area with conservation agreements in support of a larger, multi-faceted conservation program in the area.

An aerial view of Beaman Park in Davidson County.

For more information about the Governor’s Environmental Stewardship Awards, click here.